2 Poems: Memories

 

Daily Prompt: Ten

 

–1–

 

(12)…Listen, I want to…

(11)…What’re you mumbling…

(10)…We know each other…

(09)…Say louder…I can’t…

(08)…I want to say…

(07)…Raise your voice…come close

(06)…I want…actually I

(05)…Oh god…speak loudly…

(04)…I scrape the words I want to say

(03)…And pulled her to me

(02)…My lips submitted to her pout ones

(01)…A huge blast that turns to hazy

After ten years, we were submitted to each other in the embrace…in love…

After ten years, we erase all the distance…we scraped our anxiety…

Ten…Nine…Eight…My heart counts as we kissed somberly, deeply…

Seven…Six…Five…I gave the damn who were looking at us…

Four…A bump made her embrace me more…Three..Two…One…

We couldn’t leave each other…Ten…Nine…Eight…All were dizzy…

Countdown gets into an infinite loop…

–2–

Seven…eight…nine…ten…landing…

Dida was panting heavily; I wiped her forehead which was full of beads of sweats.

How more steps…I can’t walk anymore…she said in her old-age voice–

which was not cracked or doesn’t use to tremble like other of her age.

Few more steps, Dida, come hold my hand; see, it’s only five–half of the ten…I had said…

She had taken her first step grasping my hand like Rupai used to in a crowded metro.

Three…two…one…roof…

She was panting more than before; her ebony colored face was greasy from sweats…

She had held her compressed beauty till she goes away ten months later…

Landing…ten…nine…eight…

Rupai stroke on my shoulder and said in mime language, wiping her eyes, not to cry.

Seven…six…five…

I stumbled as I carry her, on a stretcher, down to the glassed hearse with elders.

Four…three..two…

I turned around and Rupai smiled and stretching her finger over her eyes–

Says to me not to cry, again, from the second floor…

One…landing…my limbs are tired…another ten steps and then gate…and then hearse…

Then few more ten multipliers kilometers to sashaan…

Do you remember, I had taught you like this–the numbering system–when you were a child–

She pointed to the stars as she started counting the stars in the godhuli sky…

Ten months later when Rupai left me and I was counting the stars,–

I found my old darling Dida standing beside me…

panting heavy…sweating profusely…

she was looking beautiful as usual…

 

9 thoughts on “2 Poems: Memories

Leave a Reply

