Villanelle of Catharsis of An Insomniac Soul

Self-torture to gain love, overthinking but no outcome

Another night passed, another twenty-pack smoke concluded…

Why falling in love mostly brings devastation?

The way that I’m refraining self to traverse

Beckoning me again, and, again leading me to your mystic embrace…

Self-torture to gain love, overthinking but no outcome.

You’re long gone, still am stuck in this maze

Of finding you, finding my mistakes discovering each time a new me

Why falling in love mostly brings devastation?

My eyes are burning in search of solace,

(My) heart aching; its tire today for continuous inner struggle

Self-torture to gain love, overthinking but no outcome.

I don’t know whether you still recollect me with same adore;

My subconscious (though) reject this notion remembering how you’ve treated me…

Why falling in love mostly brings devastation?

Another night passed, another morning coming…

I shall stop this catharsis…I shall fall for s’one only for companionship and nothing else…

Self-torture to gain love, overthinking but no outcome

Why falling in love mostly brings devastation?

In response to Writing Prompt, 5th February – Villanelle, you should try it, once!

From Poet’s Desk:

The refrain lines “Self-torture to gain love, overthinking but no outcome/ Why falling in love mostly brings devastation?” were taken from Recognize by Meenakshi Sethi (Wings of Poetry).

22 thoughts on “Villanelle of Catharsis of An Insomniac Soul

  1. I liked this phrase: “overthinking but no outcome” That would lead to more overthinking and frustration. The move from iambic pentameter to prose was interesting, but the villanelle form was present throughout. The villanelle repetition fits well someone overthinking a lost love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

