86e1d425e50c47760b1bb70fb2db3b2b

A Lost Poem on the Bookmark

[The following 5 lines were actually found in a torn piece of paper–kept as a bookmark in an old out-of-print Bengali book I own. The language–Bengali–was of s’thing that was spoken in late 18th Century. So, I took liberty to translate it and as it was 5 lines, so, Tanka was the perfect format to write the lines…]

It was a demon to

me when I was a child. Now

Angel, from this night.

He looked at me as aid when

The rain washed my pinked dagger…

 Weekly #Tanka #Poetry Challenge #20 by Colleen Chesebro

11 thoughts on “A Lost Poem on the Bookmark

    1. Actually Ma’m, it’s just a sort of back story I had created in try to give the Tanka a different treatment…but yes the original I had written first was in Bengali and then I had translated it…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

