The Plea of Sinbad: A Pantoum

There it is, again…swimming through the pacific air…from the misty distance
Have you heard it? Have you?
Ahoy mate…don’t close your ears…tell me…assure me…it is really happening?
Anchored the ship…hold the mast…hold…

Have you heard it? Have you?
The voice…no, voices becoming clear…like the sky in the summer…but, it’s not summer…
Anchored the ship…hold the mast…hold…
Oh..the voice is so seducing…so spelling…so enchanting…or voices…or unison…

The voice…no, voices becoming clear…like the sky in the summer…but, it’s not summer…
Did you see that…did you…there on the rocks…in the mist…like enormous fireflies…
The voice or voices are so seducing…so spelling…so enchanting…I’m losing the reality…
Are we in heaven…am I losing sense…the view…or is it the surrounding…so misty…

Did you see that…did you…there on the rocks…in the mist…like enormous fireflies…
Ahoy mate…slap me…hit me…I want to be unconscious…voice…voices…unison…
Allah…where are all…are they asleep…or they are on the plank… for the jump…
Allah…hold me…hold me…the fireflies…are…turning to…clear view…there…they…are…

From Poet’s Desk:

Translation of a Bengali incomplete poem written by me couple of years ago. I’ve been trying to complete this for last few days. But, after a strenuous brainstorming decided to let it be unfinished because there’s s’thing mystical in unfinished.

Daily Prompt: Heard

9 Comments Add yours

  1. writealine16 says:

    Very different and unique way of writing. I’m also inspired to write a Pantoum.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sangbad says:

      Thank you…am honored…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great great great 👏👏👏

    Like

    1. Sangbad says:

      Ma’am thanks a ton…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Incredible says:

    I love this! I nominated you for the Mystery Blogger Award & only join in if you want to
    https://tanishkkablog.wordpress.com/2017/02/08/mystery-blogger-awar/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sangbad says:

      Thanks a ton…am accepting this…and going to write on this at weekend…thanks again

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sangbad, this is really interesting. I especially enjoy the repetition that comes in the Pantoum. (I need to try to write one of these, you have made me realize!) The feeling from this poem you have written is so evocative – that is, it feels like one is lost in a fog, with shipmates, not sure what is happening or what is ahead, fearful, eerie, mysterious. Wanting to know what is happening! I love this phrase “don’t close your ears” – keep trying to understand, don’t run away from it! Even though it IS scary. Like it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sangbad says:

      Thanks a ton Ma’am for the review…your review inspired me and pushing me to write more like this…waiting for now for The Dream of My Assassination…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

