One Rainy Spring Eve Dream(Villanelle)

I was out for a stroll, that wet spring evening, through the verdant grassland.
The rain had stopped that noon, letting the season to paint the eve with its hue
There were murmuration, cool soft breeze, and, flying a little above the ground, she…
I was in the room, for last two days down with fever and, then, with the emptiness.
Pages went empty, thoughts got errand, the murmuration of the words choked me.
I was out for a stroll, that wet spring evening, through the verdant grassland.
The road was decorated with lilac; the branches of the trees hanging low with Palash`
The godhuli* coming down at a slow steady rate; the full moon was already there.
There were murmuration, cool soft breeze, and, flying a little above the ground, she…
The murmuration was moving errand over the dusky slate sky hiding the stars
I hear her first before I found her and saw her besides the sky mirrored lake.
I was out for a stroll, that wet spring evening, through the verdant grassland.
She was singing softly; her voice echoes over the valley, giving voice to–
The passing breeze. She was clapping in interim softly to keep the tone
There were murmuration, cool soft breeze, and, flying a little above the ground, she…
Suddenly e’thing** got a change. I was sleeping on my armchair in my study.
Before I regain myself, I heard the soft singing voice of my wife and clap of thunder…
I was out for a stroll, that wet spring evening, through the verdant grassland.
There were murmuration, cool soft breeze, and, flying a little above the ground, she…

 

From Poet’s Desk:

The word murmuration had been used here in an alternative way. The most common meaning of this word is the action of murmuring. The rare meaning is a flock of starlings. In the refrain lines, the word had been used in the latter form to give the scene a depth that rare objects can imply on anything I think. 

The starlings are small to medium-sized passerine birds which are generally natives to Europe, Asia, and Africa along with to Northern Australia and Islands of the tropical Pacific.  In Asia, mainly the larger one are commonly known as mynas. Click to see the murmuring of the starlings.

`Palash are spring flower. In English, they are known as Flame of the Forest Bastard Teak or Parrot Tree

*Godhuli is Bengali term for twilight. It originated from the scene when in older days the herds of domestic animals like cow, ox (go short term for these animals in Bengali) used to return to their shelter at twilight, dust (dhuli in Bengali) used to fill the environ of the time. Thus, coining the term in Bengali godhuli.

**e’thing is my shorthand for everything

Sunday Strange Microfiction (03/12/2017)

night_by_edward_burne-jones_1870

Daily Prompt: Murmuration (03/12/2017)

15 thoughts on “One Rainy Spring Eve Dream(Villanelle)

  1. I liked the repetition of the prosaic lines which made me think of someone dreaming and repeating again and again parts of the dream with slightly different contexts. I also liked this phrase: ” two days down with fever and, then, with the emptiness.” This modifies the villanelle form from iambic pentameter lines in an interesting way I did not expect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

