A Lost Poem on the Bookmark [Prose-Tanka] (Re-post)

Today I’m sharing my first Tanka wrote for Colleen Chesebro Weekly Poetry Challenge #20 (prompts were Angel and Devil).


 

The following 5 lines were actually found in a torn piece of paper–kept as a bookmark in an old out-of-print Bengali book I own. The language–Bengali–was of s’thing that was spoken in late 18th Century. So, I took the liberty to translate it and as it was 5 lines, so, Tanka was the perfect format to write the lines…

it was a demon to

me when I was a child now

angel from this night

he looked at me as aide when

the rain washed my pinked dagger…

02/08/2017


Daily Prompt: Pink

2 thoughts on “A Lost Poem on the Bookmark [Prose-Tanka] (Re-post)

Leave a Reply

