An Act of Woo [A Screenplay]

on

Trying a screenplay for the first time. The comment is open for all. Looking for suggestion and corrections along with tips and praises. Please don’t hesitate to comment on this if you want.


 

EXT. ON A TOP OF A WALL AT THE SIDE OF A SOUTH KOLKATA ALLEY

MARMALADE

See how he is trying to woo the girl.

She pointed her hand towards the street. Her husband, Grimalkin, was licking his hand and was trying to straighten his fur. He was half-wet and looking like a ball of wool scrambled. He stopped and looked at the street and looking at Marmalade

GRIMALKIN

(looking at the pointed direction)

Yeah…jumping…hopping…

MARMALADE

(frowned a little)

When did the last time you have tried to woo me?

GRIMALKIN

(He was back to his licking and straightening his fur. He continued doing that, in interim)

I am wet now for you. The new wife is very cruel. She pours the cold water on me. Why? Because I was taking a piece of fish only. So, don’t say I do not try to woo you.

MARMALADE

(laughing)

Mr. Corvus, thus, having a gala time. See, he has Lady Splendens on lunch. The fish may be the one you had tried to “pick” up.

Grimalkin looked up at the nearby neem tree and saw Mr. Corvus wooing Lady Splendens with a piece of fish.

GRIMALKIN

(looking at the eyes of his wife)

You were asking when did last time I woo you. Right.

(he stretched his back. Shook drowsiness off his body)

I am going to get that for you.

He jumped from the wall before Marmalade could say anything.

CUT TO

EXT. STREET NOT DESOLATE BUT LESS CROWDED

Curry and her friend Madame were squatting by the side of the road in the shade of the neem tree.

CURRY

Isn’t he cute?

MADAME

Yes. But, he is very showing off. I am not going to fall for him.

CURRY

Darling, you know you are a fantasy of so many.

MADAME

I know. Last day Mustang came and asked me out. He came with some sort of blasted ball like the kids play with and hit with that their big wooden stick.

CURRY

Really, I had once gone out with him. But, he is such a son of a bitch. Tried to make love before the date started.

MADAME

Really. I had heard few whispers of him. But, he is not the concern. He is. He always dogging me. Trying to get my attention every time.

CURRY

He is a good guy. New here. But, good–

MADAME

(interrupting her friend)

He doesn’t know that bubble cannot be caught how much he try. And his master applying so much detergent, to wash the car, it’s making me feel nausea.

CURRY

He is trying to woo the new girl came with the new wife of the Chakrabarty house.

MADAME

These boys. See Mr. Corvus having a date. And Grimalkin there trying to woo his wife. But, wait he is going to–

CURRY

And he has jumped. Oh, poor little wooer of yours. See he run away and Grimalkin is again wet.

MADAME

(sigh and whisper)

He is a nice guy and I knew it.

CUT TO

EXT. ON THE TOP OF THE WALL

MARMALADE

(whisper)

He is again wet. He is such a darling.

(high-tone)

Honey, come up. Enough adventure for a morning.


A screenplay for my dear friend Shee’s Fortnight Friday Fables. The main story for her initiative was–“inspired by my love for humor and sarcasm as they tend to be my favorite genre. I too do a lot of challenges but could not find a challenge which depicts humor and sarcasm. This challenge mainly aims to spread happiness and bring smiles on the sad faces. Let’s help others by filling some happiness in their gloomy lives together.”

So this is for the week #1. Breaking the rule. From next time will try to maintain the rule. The picture for the prompt–

7cb3e4fe89a61f42c873294e4bc8469a
PC  Selsmith via Pinterest

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Great Start Sangbad! Amazing work!

    Like

    1. sangbad says:

      😊😁😀😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautiful. have you studied writing professionally.

    Like

    1. sangbad says:

      No…I just study the pattern of writing after reading…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha. Amazing. This just made my day. 😀

    Like

    1. sangbad says:

      🐶 woof woof

      Like

  4. thinkinkadia says:

    Good try at several different writing styles. Love the character names!
    (Maybe an intro to the setting and characters?)

    Like

    1. sangbad says:

      Thank you…screen play I think is precise to the scene…okay next time I will add one…

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Singledust says:

    imaginative as always Sangbad! Our poem is up my friend, some lovely comments for you there, thank you for the opportunity to write together. https://alifelesslivedblog.wordpress.com/2017/05/11/whispers-from-eeshan-kone/

    Like

    1. sangbad says:

      Checked that…do not know what to say…so many generous and lovely comments am overwhelmed…thanks to you for giving me this chance to write with you…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Singledust says:

        my pleasure…you read all the comments? you are admired greatly!

        Like

        1. sangbad says:

          Yes…I read all…but all credits to you Gina…

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Singledust says:

            oh thank you. I enjoyed it that’s what is more important. the time spent with you was very calming on me.

            Like

            1. sangbad says:

              😊my pleasure then…😊🌹

              Like

Leave a Reply

