We Few…#11


A breeze whistling pass my just bathed body

A car honking zipped on one side while an auto on another side.

The footsteps of night can be heard as leaves of neem & mango–

In my neighbor fall on their alabaster roof.

The doors of southern windows creaking–dancing in the wind

The curtains flying high touching ceiling; Ma sleeping heavy.

Kolkata, let me be Saju tonight; let me subdued in lament…

Sing your lullaby to Rupai, please, and her few days old daughter…

–xx–


Saju is the female protagonist from “Nakshi Kathar Maath” by Jasimuddin, a tragic love dramatic verse in Bengali.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Singledust says:

    such power in your sultry words melt me Sangbad

    Like

    1. sangbad says:

      😯 my pleasure for the feelings

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Singledust says:

        it always touches me.

        Like

  2. Sreeblogs says:

    I do remember that Rupai Saju story…it touched my heart…loved this poem of yours 👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻

    Like

    1. sangbad says:

      ☺ Saju-Rupaier golpo bhola sombhov noy…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You evoke night time in your neighbourhood so well! I can almost hear it.

    Like

    1. sangbad says:

      Thanks Jane…it was the silence…

      Like

      1. Full of emotions.

        Like

  4. So she is mother now! Once again my favorite one. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sangbad says:

      Yes…Di…I may write few more poems on this…hope am not becoming one of those saddistic poets…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Write in every form. Few more on this but also try other forms too…
        You too should live your life moving on Sangbad. You too deserve happiness.

        Like

        1. sangbad says:

          Yup Di…Badtameez was the try…thanks for the push again…

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

