Opening the Windows

I open the windows, one after one, of my room this evening

The June air filled in up the room as I went on; the curtains stirred up

As a baby will after a nap and the breeze brush me as the smile of the baby.

City orchestra waved on my just awake mind beach like call of gulls

Siesta still has it shadow over the vale of the loanly soul.

Suddenly, all of sudden, I feel free, I feel light

I feel I’m not for any one; a gust passed mocking me

Alone, lorn I feel in my room, in my city Kolkata.

I sat down by the southern window, the last one,

After opening it & removing the heavy curtain.

-x-

Author: Sangbad

A published poet. Avid Reader. Favorite authors (few) are Satyajit Ray, Saradindu Bandyopadhyay, Bankim Ch. Chatterjee, Jhumpa Lahiri, O. Henry, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, etc. Music lovers. Love to hear Rabrinda Sangeet, Anjan Dutt, Enrique Iglesias, Mozart & Beethoven (though can't say which is who's symphony). Dislike to get clicked. Love to be self (introvert).

23 thoughts on “Opening the Windows”

Leave a Reply

