A Little Time Machine

Today’s prompt made me remember an ad whose description I had to write as it is my duty. The ad was on an e-cigarette campaign & the song used was Lollipop song sang in 1958 by The Chordettes. I remember the ad not clearly again not vaguely, but, the song I remember. The poem I’m going to share is inspired by this hazied memoir.


Lollipop lollipop

Red blue yellow saffron

Lollipop lollipop

Cherry mint banana mango

Lollipop lollipop

Two ana one paisa two rupees

Lollipop lollipop

I never liked it at all never

Lollipop lollipop

A sugary crystal ball on thin plastic stick

Wrapped in a cellophane branded

Or head only in a small plastic satchet 

Lollipop lollipop

Still when I see them at stores

And see the change in all–

Cellophane replace by a complete wrap

And price in bar code stripes

I know childhood had long gone

Lollipop lollipop

Once a symbol of innocence

Now, also, part of jokes lewd

Also a symbol of sexual innuendo

Lollipop lollipop

A little time machine in hand

xxx—

An Old Cadbury Lollipop Ad

Comments welcome…

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/lollipop/

